Album Cover

Eraserheads - Fruitcake

0.0 (0)
23 0 4 22 1 0
Moreberto Parangue
Album Cover
Album Cover

Music Info

Publish Date

Fruitcake is the fourth studio album of the Filipino band Eraserheads, released in December 6, 1996 by BMG Records (Pilipinas), Inc. It is also the official Christmas album and was accompanied by a separate storybook, also called Fruitcake. It can be categorized as a musical itself and to date, there has only been one theater musical adaptation of it - the Eraserheads' Fruitcake Musical 2010.

The release of Fruitcake is preceded by the release of a limited cassette EP version which was later released as a CD, also called Fruitcake. The cassette and CD single version contains three songs, including a different version of the song "Fruitcake" and another song called "Christmas Alphabet" which is not found in the official Fruitcake album. The album is the band's longest in terms of duration, lasting 73 minutes.

"Fruitcake" starts with the album's final track, "Merry Christmas Everybody Happy New Year Too", reversed. "Shadow Boxes Accountants", "Shadow Reads the News Today, Oh Boy", and "" are piano instrumentals played by Buddy Zabala. "Old Fashioned Christmas Carol" includes lyrics from "Silver Bells", "Jingle Bells", "The Little Drummer Boy", "Joy to the World", "Silent Night", "Whispering Hope" and "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer". "Lightyears" has the lyrics "north of nowhere" and "south of somewhere" which are names substituted to the conventional side A and B in the cassette versions of the album. The string section of this track was recorded at Cinema Audio. "Hitchin' a Ride" contains a sample of "Fruitcake" near the end.

Track List

1. "Fruitcake" 2. "Shadow" 3. "Flat Tire" 4. "Shadow Boxes Accountants" 5. "Gatekeeper" 6. "Old Fashioned Christmas Carol" 7. "Styrosnow" 8. "Trip to Jerusalem" 9. "Shadow Reads the News Today, Oh Boy" 10. "Fruit Fairy" 11. "The Fabulous Baker Boy" 12. "Lord of the Rhum" 13. "Lightyears" 14. "Christmas Ball" 15. "Monovirus" 16. "" 17. "Rise and Shine" 18. "Santa Ain't Comin' No Mo'" 19. "Christmas Party" 20. "Hitchin' a Ride" 21. "Christmas Morning" 22. "Merry Christmas Everybody Happy New Year Too"


  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
  • EFruitcake
    67 MB


User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments