Related Articles

Aegis – Ating Balikan – 2014 Album

Aegis is a Filipino pop rock band formed in 1995 (formerly known as AG’s Soundtrippers in clubs and lounges all over Japan). The band is composed of sisters: Juliet, Mercy and Kris Sunot on lead vocals, Rey Abenoja (the only male member) on vocals and guitars, Stella Pabico on keyboards, Rowena Adriano on bass guitar and Vilma Goloviogo on drums. The group changed the name to Aegis in 1998 as agreed upon with Alpha Records.[3] The meaning of their band’s name is “shield” or “protection”.[4] Their songs have been featured in the musical Rak of Aegis.

Side A – Ang Ating Awitin – 1998 ALBUM

Side A is a Filipino pop band formed in 1985 who gained recognition in the Philippine music scene in the late 1980s through to the early 2000s. They are best known for their hit single “Forevermore”. Side A achieved major commercial success during the 1990s. In 1993, the group’s third album went triple platinum and in the mid-1990s, Side A garnered two Awit Awards, the Philippines’ equivalent of the Grammys.

Dubbed as the “Philippines’ premiere band” and the local version to the band Toto, Side A was founded in 1985 by the brothers Rodel and Naldy Gonzalez, Joey Benin, Kelly Badon, Mar Dizon and Pido Lalimarmo. The band released its eponymous debut album in 1989. The band was first managed by the Christian-oriented artist management company called Artistation Inc., owned by the late Wyngard Tracy

Side A’s eponymous debut album included their first hit single “Eva Marie” which paved the way for their illustrious recording career. Classic Side A songs such as “Windows of Our Souls” and “‘Di Pa Huli” can be found on the album. The uptempo “‘Di Pa Huli” catapulted the band into the mainstream. Instead of being written as “Side B”, the B-side of their albums were written as “Side A too”.

Shortly after their success of their debut album, Rodel Gonzalez left for the band Second Wind. Pido Lalimarmo and Mar Dizon left in 1990 to form Artstart. Lalimarmo and Dizon remained with Artstart until 1994 when Lalimarmo united with Eva Marie Poon (sister of Richard Poon) to form Take One and Dizon joining Parliament Syndicate.