Related Articles

Aegis – Mahal Na Mahal Kita – 1999 Album

Aegis is a Filipino pop rock band formed in 1995 (formerly known as AG’s Soundtrippers in clubs and lounges all over Japan). The band is composed of sisters: Juliet, Mercy and Kris Sunot on lead vocals, Rey Abenoja (the only male member) on vocals and guitars, Stella Pabico on keyboards, Rowena Adriano on bass guitar and Vilma Goloviogo on drums. The group changed the name to Aegis in 1998 as agreed upon with Alpha Records.[3] The meaning of their band’s name is “shield” or “protection”.[4] Their songs have been featured in the musical Rak of Aegis.

Mayonnaise – Nais Lang Kitang Saktan Tama Na Yan (Deluxe Version) – 2020 ALBUM

Mayonnaise is a five-piece Filipino alternative rock band. The band is fronted by Monty Macalino and is famous for winning the renowned “Red Horse Muziklaban” in 2004.

The band chose its name in honor of the song “Mayonaise” by The Smashing Pumpkins.[1] The band was originally formed in 2002 with a number of former members and launched mainstream in 2004 after winning the Grand Prize of the Red Horse Muziklaban 2004 which composed of Monty Macalino (who due to his unarguably hefty body figure makes him the most visible member),[2] Paga Manikan, Lee Maningas and Shan Regalado.[3] Their debut self-titled album, Mayonnaise was launched with their 1st single, “Jopay” which was released by Sony Music Philippines.[4] Jopay is a reference of a former member of the Sexbomb Dancers.[5] Their next single was “Bakit Part 2” which became a radio airplay hit. Bassist Lee Maningas left the band some time in 2008 to migrate to the United States and was replaced by Poch Villalon.

Their follow-up 2nd album, Pa’no Nangyari Yun? was released in 2006 with their carrier single, “Salamin”. The same year, the band also covered the song, “Ipagpatawad Mo”, originally from VST and Company. The song was included in their collaboration album, Hopia Mani Popcorn.

In 2008, Mayonnaise released their 3rd album, Tersera which was launched with their singles, “Singungaling”, “Torres” and “Sakto”. The band released their 4th album, Pula in 2010 with the carrier single, “Sa Pula, Sa Puti”.

The group also sang the TV theme song of ABS-CBN 2’s reality show, The Biggest Loser: Pinoy Edition entitled “Sabay Tayo” in 2011.

In 2013, Paga Manikan left the group to concentrate on his own band, the Banat Boys. Popularly known as a 4-piece group, the band announced its 3 new members shortly after Manikan’s departure via their official social media accounts. Aaron Brosoto, Carlo Servano and Jaztin Mercado, who used to play with them as session musicians, officially filled in as guitarists and keyboardist respectively.

In 2014, keyboardist Jaztin Mercado left the band to move to Singapore and in the same year the band recruited Maan Furio to play guitars and do backing vocals. In late 2014, bassist and backing vocalist Poch Villalon left the band to pursue other interests. Villalon has since been a session player for Rico Blanco after departing and was replaced by Nikki Tirona to fill in his position as bassist and backing vocalist for the band. In mid-2015, lead guitarist Aaron Brosoto also left the band to pursue other interests as well.

In November 2017, guitarist and backing vocalist Maan Furio left the band on good terms to pursue a professional career in Dubai, UAE. Keano Swing then later filled in as her replacement. But later in 2020, she returned to the band as a session guitarist and backing vocalist.

In November 2019, a remastered version of the eponymous debut album was released as a commemoration of its 15th anniversary.