Women's Prize for Fiction -English literary prize

0.0 (0)
34 3 0 0 0

Knowledge Basic Info

Knowledge Author
The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica
Author Description
Encyclopaedia Britannica's editors oversee subject areas in which they have extensive knowledge, whether from years of experience gained by working on that content or via study for an advanced degree....

Women’s Prize for Fiction, formerly Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction (2014–17), Orange Prize for Fiction (1996–2007; 2008–12), and Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction (2007–08), English literary prize for women that was conceptualized in 1992 and instituted in 1996 by a group of publishing industry professionals—including agents, booksellers, critics, journalists, and librarians—who were frustrated by what they perceived as chauvinism in the selection of finalists for literary awards such as the Booker Prize.

The award was initially funded by an anonymous endowment and by the Orange Group, a telecommunications company that had frequently supported the arts. Eligible for the prize were novels written in English by a woman in the previous year. Translations were not eligible, but publishers could submit works by women of all nationalities, provided that the works had been released in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The prize was administered by Booktrust, an English literary advocacy organization, and sponsored and organized by the Orange Group. It was judged by a female panel chosen by the prize’s founders. Organizers dismissed accusations of sexism, though they formed a shadow panel of male judges for the 2001 contest. In 2005 the Orange Award for New Writers—also restricted to women—was created for first-time novelists and short-story writers; it was discontinued in 2010.

For a number of years, the prize was named to reflect its sponsorship. It was known as either the Orange Prize for Fiction or the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction until the Orange Group dropped its sponsorship in 2012, after the presentation of that year’s award. The following year it was funded by a group of private donors and renamed the Women’s Prize for Fiction. From 2014 to 2017 the cream liqueur brand Baileys was the sole sponsor of the award, which became known as the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction. In 2018 Baileys was joined by several other backers, and the award’s name was changed back to the Women’s Prize for Fiction.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account